“A day without women”

The liberal swarm: media, “women’s groups”, democrat pundits… are all up in arms about today being a great protest.  They are all about a world wide protest to prove how important women are to society.  On that premise, my answer is “duh”.  Without women the planet would be devoid of humanity within 100 years, not to mention all the other things women do.

But to their actual desires, the desire to hold countries, companies, school districts, people and I can only assume – men hostage.  Really, is that the best idea?  Is that a good way to portray your message?  Is that a good message to convey?

For one, I resent this.  I resent it for many reasons and I will share one.

This is personal.  EVERY day is a day without MY WOMAN, my wife, my partner for life and beyond, the other half of my soul.  EVERY day, I have to wake up without her endearing smile to great me as I nudge her awake with hopeful cuddles.  EVERY day, I have to figure out a way to make it through the day without refreshers of her wisdom, without her laughing at my vexation with stupid people, without her slipping her hand into mine and that gentle squeeze telling me I am the most important thing in her life.  EVERY day, I have to interact with grey scale, 2D caricatures of my formerly 3D technicolor life.

Some in the conservative movement have created a backlash idea.  “We show up”.

I will tell you with no reservations, my wife was a “We show up” woman.  Her first husband (effectively) refused to earn a living for the family.  So, “She showed up”.  She showed up so well, her part time effort to make ends meet led to a management position and more money than they had made combined when she started.  So he quit entirely.  So, she showed up even more.  That was the story of her life.  Not that other people refused, they did.  But that isn’t the point.  She showed up, then she did.  She did what needed done, then she went a bit further.  Sometimes it was working longer, sometimes it was working smarter, sometimes it was recognizing talent and promoting it.  Sometimes it was doing the dirty job no one else wanted to to.  But in a world 25 some odd years ago when “women could not succeed”, no one bothered to tell this woman who apparently didn’t know any better and did.

She went from a part time furniture “sales girl” at a local furniture store, to the Leader of Regional Expansion for a huge high end furniture chain.  She managed the construction, build out, staffing and opening marketing of 6+ stores as they opened an entire new region of sales.  She went from making just over minimum wage (plus slight commission) to a base salary over $100k with a generous bonus and benefits package.  She did not do this by holding anyone hostage over having a vagina.  She did it by showing up, working hard and smart and doing what it took to keep her children fed, clothed and to provide them an opportunity to succeed later.  She did it without the help of a good husband / partner.  She would even say she did it to compensate for the lack of …

My wife would have heard of this protest and laughed.  If she had still been in furniture management, she would have had a meeting with her staff a week or two ago.  In that meeting, she would have directly told everyone.  Take the day off if you want.  America is a free country.  Just be aware, the company has policies on unauthorized days off.  I will be documenting this meeting.  I will be documenting and prosecuting any unauthorized days off the same way I always do.  Remember actions have consequences.  I am fair and I am firm.  Her intend would have been, I have fairly warned you and I will give your story a fair listen before I send your last check to the address on record.

Have I mentioned recently, I miss that woman like I would miss my right arm?

 

1 Comment

Filed under communist media, Dawn, personal, politics, Uncategorized

One response to ““A day without women”

  1. Regina

    I love your writings…

Leave a Reply

