Having a cold-government style

I do not spend a lot of time buying or keeping myself updated on over the counter drugs.  My lifestyle is fairly healthy and it is not common for me to be sick.  Having said that I caught THE COLD the other day and when I get a cold, my severely deviated septum makes it somewhat tough to get rid of.

I tell you that, so you will understand the context of what I am about to write.

I just went to the pharmacy to pick up some multi-symptom cold relief.  It NO LONGER EXISTS.  Let me repeat that, NO LONGER EXISTS.

First the government decided that meth was a bad thing and pseudoephedrine HCL is the base ingredient, so they forced all products containing pseudoephedrine HCL behind the counter.  This was coupled with needing to show ID to buy it (a purchase tracking system) and a legal limit on the amount purchased in a day and in a month.  If you exceed this amount, you go to jail.  No need to actually use it to make meth, just the simple fact that you purchase more than 3.6 grams in a day or 9 grams month gets you a ticket to jail.

For reference, the 96 pack I bought today has just under 2.9 grams.  That 96 pack is 16 days worth of doses for a single person which seems reasonable (if you forget all about innocent until proven guilty).  However, if you look at it from the single parent with 3 kids perspective; that is unlikely to get you through the full cycle of the illness.

Don’t worry it gets worse.  The government has now ALSO added fees to companies that place pseudoephedrine HCL into multi-symptom medicines.  These fees are pretty steep.  This has effectively stopped all but one company from making the real multi-symptom OTC drugs that were available before 2005.  They quite simply no longer exist.

In speaking with the pharmacist, I asked, “so, now I have to buy the headache, sore throat, cough suppression medicine and stack a pseudoephedrine HCL on top of it myself?

His response, “I am not legally allowed to answer that question, but if you did and the multi-symptom drug of choice had phenylphedrine HCL in it, that does cause bad reactions in some people.”

So now I have to carefully screen which drugs I am combining AND pay for two separate drugs at a much higher combined price each time I get a cold.  Thanks nanny state.

For the record, most of the night time versions of the multi-symptom do not have the phenylphedrine HCL in them.  So that would be your safer rough to DIY your old full strength cold relief medicine.

Oh and in other joy.  The pseudoephedrine HCL has a 4 hour dose and the multi-symptom medicines have a 6 hour dose.  JOYOUS

Leave a comment

Filed under idiocrity, nanny state, Uncategorized, War on drugs

Leave a Reply

