Contempt of cop (linky)

So when I am out and about living my life, I have no expectation of privacy.

Go to Lowes, they can video tape me.  Go to work, they can video tape me.  Drive through a toll booth, they can video tape me.  Drive on the highway and have a member of the LEO community take notice, they can video tape me.

Now lets say said LEO decides to pull me over.  How does that suddenly become a private situation?  Is said LEO no longer taping the event with his /her dash cam?  Does the LEO have a duty and responsibility to inform me that I am being taped?

In case you aren’t sure, the answer is no to both questions.

So why is it that if I have a Gopro pointed at the driver side window, I am potentially a felon?  If some random stranger decides to video tape the encounter (third party), that is legal; but as an active participant, somehow I am not allowed to self protect with video.  Help me understand how that makes sense?

This woman will win a five figure award.  Good for her.

Leave a comment

February 21, 2014 · 08:45

Leave a Reply

